Dancing Through Life

My audition | March 8, 2010

Hi everyone, yet again!!!!!As you all know, im in a drama club, and we do different skits, musicals, and plays. My dad normally just gives everyone a part out of the scrip, but this time, it’s different. this time, we’re having auditions. SINGING ONES!!

I’m a little nervous to try out, only because i really want a good part in the play…..and maybe a singing part;) so i was so stressed about what i was going to sing. there were sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo many possibilities, and so mind was ticking. what to sing, what to sing, what to sing, my mind kept saying to myself. I was flipping threw all my favorite artists. paramore, carrie underwood, taylor swift, killers, and (somewhat) miley. WHAT TO SING?!?!?!?!?!?!

So i finally had settled it between two songs. the only exception, or we are broken, both songs by paramore. but my mind kept saying, “THOSE SONGS AINT GOOD ENOUGH!!!!” i had to agree with my mind. although i love both of those songs, they just don’t work for me. the only exception is like WAY too totally low for my voice. and we are broken? well it just didn’t seem right.

so after eliminating those 2 songs, i was thinking of musical songs i knew. oliver, annie, wicked, and many more. Finally i thought of the song reflection, from mulan. I reallllllllly like that song, and i think it’s just right  for my voice. So there, i had figured out my song:)

But still, i thought there were more possibilities out there. there are. and i know so. But i really think that the song reflection is a good one. and if im gonna be auditioning, i should sing a song i admire:D I really think this is a good song choice, and even if i don’t get a singing part, i will (hopefully) still think i did a pretty darn good job:)

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Cool blog, Charis! I was also sooo nervous about which song to choose. I just went with my first instinct. You chose a great song!
    Break a leg!
    (not literally, you’re already on crutches!)

    Comment by Rachel — March 8, 2010 @ 12:33 am

  2. This is awesome!! Mulan is one of my favorite movies, and Reflection is a great song! If you didn’t sing it, I would!

    Comment by Lilic — March 8, 2010 @ 2:55 am

  3. Charis–I think it is really important to love the song you are singing for an audition. Though, goodness knows, I’ve certainly auditioned with enough songs that I have NOT loved before. Still, a vocal coach once said that every song in your audition book should be something that you LOVE LOVE LOVE to sing…which I think is a good idea. Just pick a song you love to sing for tomorrow and I’m sure you’ll be great!

    Love to read your words–you’re a talented writer, Char:)

    Comment by Jessica — March 8, 2010 @ 8:23 am


Leave a Reply

